NP CR:X Kites for beginner

General discussions about kiting: equipment, setup tips, safety, where to go, where you should have been, lost and found
Brad

Post by Brad »

I'm a beginner just able to stay upwind looking to set myself up with a set of kites that will take me from here on upwards along the learning curve for a few years. I've found a set of 13M, 10m & 7m NP CR:X 2018s I think with bar and pump for $2000. Does this sound to anyone like a reasonable deal and would these kites work for me at this stage sailing mostly at Nitnat? I'd appreciate any help I can get as it's a substantial layout of money & it'd suck to get it wrong. :D
abetanzo

Post by abetanzo »

Don't fork out that much for your first set of kites.. many newbies will do that then have to repair the kite mid season after splitting it leading to trailing edge.
look for old school kites in September... many people have bought new kites early season and are selling last years set...
look for ocean rodeo prodigies... I'm still flying them after 7years!
lots of deals out there.
OtLunch

Post by OtLunch »

That's a good deal on those kites and they will be fine for learning on but I would first like to know your weight.

13m is a really odd size kite nearly anywhere but for the island, it's a kite that would not see much use compared to a 12m.

If you weigh say 170-190lbs, your 50% of the time kite will be a 9-10m kite at Nitinaht \ Dallas Rd. I would then say you will be reaching for a 12m 30% of the time and 13m would reduce that down to 15%.

7m conditions for the weight described above will be pretty rare in your first season kiting as you will likely not have the experience for that high of wind.