Gear clean/storage

General discussions about kiting: equipment, setup tips, safety, where to go, where you should have been, lost and found
ECarey

Gear clean/storage

Post by ECarey »

I've been kiting since 2017 and there has been something that I have always wondered– what is the best way to pack up your gear at the end of the day for storage in terms of ease and gear longevity?

My process has always been to fold the kite rather neatly on the beach, then once home unfold, spray with fresh water. and dry to remove any salt residue. After the kite is dry I will then fold very neatly and repack in the bag. Excessive? Maybe. Time consuming? Yes.

What does everyone else do for kite/gear maintenance and is there a general consensus on how it should be done?
Last edited by ECarey on Wed May 27, 2020 3:32 pm, edited 1 time in total.
juandesooka
Website Donor
Website Donor

Post by juandesooka »

I am careful to never put wet gear in tight packing bags. Summer is easy. In winter, I drip dry it on lines under my carport and then bring it inside folded loose so air can get to it, until it is dry.

From what I have read, fresh water is the enemy, leads to mold, but salt water less a concern. I may rinse my bar if I think of it, but I've never fresh water bathed a kite.
nanmoo

Post by nanmoo »

If you spray it with Fresh water you absolutely need to dry it out which it sounds like you do, otherwise mould is the enemy as John notes. Personally I think that is excessive and the wear and tear from packing/unpacking/drying/repacking is probably negating any benefit. Who knows for sure though.

I'd carefully just pack it away. Salt water inherently keeps mould away so it is fine. There are issues with dried salt crystals in any fabric as they cause significant friction leading to wear, but unless you are wearing you kite bag on your back around town there is just not enough movement and mechanical abrasion for that to matter.
Don't forget to bring a towel!
ECarey