Search found 19 matches

by elt
Mon May 01, 2023 1:23 pm
Forum: Wingfoiling Discussion
Topic: Wing vs regular windsurfing sail
Replies: 15
Views: 3085

Re: Wing vs regular windsurfing sail

I have lots of experience with windsurfing, windfoiling and wingfoiling and I cannot imagine wanting to use a wing without a foil as they are like holding a towel in the wind compared to a windsurf sail. There's a reason people only do this once or twice to learn about wing handling before moving to...
by elt
Mon Nov 08, 2021 3:36 pm
Topic: How much Wind is needed to Wingfoil
Replies: 14
Views: 7300

Re: How much Wind is needed to Wingfoil

Great video and interesting to hear their comments! The only part I didn't agree with Wyatt on was the low wind shlog home disadvantage of a wingfoil. That's about the float in your board not sail vs wing. Just choose your board size appropriately for the wind reliability. In fact I've found it eas...
by elt
Fri Nov 05, 2021 2:10 pm

Though I'm probably much better on the foil now than I was when I last windfoiled, it seems like, using the same board and foil, the 7.0 Flyer could get me foiling in 12g14 and the 6.5 Slick wing can get me going in the same 12g14. That's my lowest end, and for me under 12 knots and I'm stalling an...
by elt
Thu Nov 04, 2021 12:13 pm

Here's my experience: I windfoil on a Wizard 125L board most often with a 7.3 non-cambered sail and 2066cm Slingshot Infinity 84cm. I like to see at gusts to at least 13 knots on my local wind sensor before I go out with it. A solid 10 knots is pretty much useless, but with the gusts to 13ish I can ...
by elt
Wed May 19, 2021 11:49 am
Topic: Wingfoiling Progression
Replies: 272
Views: 82415