Which trainer kite would you buy?

General discussions about kiting: equipment, setup tips, safety, where to go, where you should have been, lost and found
keith

Which trainer kite would you buy?

Post by keith »

Hi,

i am new to the sport and looking to get a trainer kite to start with. I tried a 3m 3 line airush the other day and was impressed by it. Was wondering if there is one a little bit stronger to pull me around a bit. I am 6'7" and 250lbs.

one more question. Do you need to have the 3rd line for self launching or can you do that with a 2 line kite (u need help launching the 2 line right) .

should i stick to the 3 metre or up it to a 4 line?

on a side note: before i flew the airush i had considered buying a t-foil trainer off ebay for $60....im sure you get what you pay for eh....anyone know anyone who have tried one of these?

thanks

keith
Schooled

Post by Schooled »

I've only flown the 2 line 2 meter airush trainer. I've watched people try and fly the (ocean rodeo?) 4 line trainers but they weren't having any luck while I had plenty of wind for the airush. It looked like the LEI type trainers don't fly well.

I learnt lots off the airush trainer and highly recommend it. Don't worry about the pull, you won't get that much till you body drag with a smaller kite on water. Make sure you take lessons, no question they are a must for learning. Tyler Adams gave me good lessons and you get free use of an airush trainer for several weeks with them. Contact bosuns locker about lessons with him. I hear the other schools are good too.

Post by newbie »