Maui Beta

General discussions. Please keep the topics weather, windsurf and kiteboard related. See the Off-Topic forum for other topics.
G-Daddy

Maui Beta

Post by G-Daddy »

Going to Maui in 2 weeks for the first time in 12 years! This time I sort of kinda know what I'm doing as opposed to being a total newb trying to learn the ropes in black diamond terrain, like my first trip years ago. Still hurting from the repeated walks of shame with my big 'GO' board along Kanaha Beach.

I'm sure this has been done before, so if there are previous posts just direct me there.

Any recommendations for car rental? What works best? A beater minivan? Something else? Who's got decent rates? Good service?

How about rentals? Any suggestions? I was hoping for North/Fanatic since that's what I sail but doesn't look like anyone rents that stuff so it's pretty much fair game for everything else. Who has decent prices/service?

Any suggestions for weather/conditions links?

Best sailing guide?

Thanks
G :?: :idea: :lol:
G-Daddy

Post by G-Daddy »

Oh yeah. We're staying in Paia. Probably sailing Kanaha the whole time since I want to make sure Yana feels comfortable out there too.

Any suggestions for lessons?
G-Daddy

Post by G-Daddy »

One more thing. Wet suit thickness in Late November?
downwind dave

Post by downwind dave »

i can only speak from my last experience 3 years ago but i had a great experience with a minivan from mauivans (al west) and rentals from kanaha kai. if you book gear 2 weeks ahead you get a big discount so you might want to think about it. bonus of kanaha kai is it is close to the beach and you can trade up/down to as many ws/sup/surfboards as you want, all day long. you have to like starboards and hot sails though.
nanmoo

Post by nanmoo »

Echo Dave's advice, only the coolest of the cool of us use HSM, so you'll be in good company. Sounds like you'll be there at the same time as Winddoc and possibly myself. Haven't pulled the trigger yet though.