sailing tweeking help

General discussions. Please keep the topics weather, windsurf and kiteboard related. See the Off-Topic forum for other topics.
chewy

sailing tweeking help

Post by chewy »

Question for those that know. My 5.8 sail feels like it continually wants to throw itself forward. It seems like I have to fight it constantly to keep from getting catapulted, more so then with my other sails. Would more downhaul or outhaul help? If I remember correctly this will bring the pocket of the sail further back hopefully decreasing the sails tendency to throw itself forward?

Any other suggestions or ideas would help.

Cheers
Bobson
Website Donor
Website Donor

Catapulting...

Post by Bobson »

I'm not an expert :roll: but from what I know about physics... :lol: HA!...I mean from what I've read and heard on my video's.....more downhaul usually moves the draft forward.....so maybe a little less downhaul, move mast foot back, foot straps forward, boom height down. I think each of these things will effect where the pull of the sail comes from relative to where you are on the board. I would try each one of these seperately. Try one then if that doesn't solve the problem, put the first thing back to where you had it first and try something else. One of these things will probably help and all of these things might help just a little. Trial and error is one of the best ways to actually learn.....or that's what my Mom says anyways!! HA! Good luck!!
winddoctor
Website Donor
Website Donor

Post by winddoctor »

Hey Chewy,

What brand and model are you sailing? I think I recall you buying Brian's Boxxer. What kind of mast are you using? Does it match the specs of the sail? What kind of board are you sailing? Where do you tend to place the mast foot with the 5.8? Fin size? Footstrap position? Color of wetsuit?

Bobson's correct in that boom height, mast foot position and footstrap position all have a role in the sailing dynamics of the board/sail/fin/sailor.